Well it looks like 2016 is officially coming to an end. All craziness in life aside, I decided to look back on the games I played this year and compile a list of best, worst, and everything in between.

2016 started off as a tough year for me. I was recovering from 2015, which started as perhaps the most difficult time of my life and ended on a what-comes-next cliffhanger. I started 2016 unemployed and broke and have only recently saved up from my job to feel comfortable again.

“Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow.”- Mary Anne Radmacher

I think I can say that I’ve worked through a lot of the recent troubles in my life. I feel like this list of games is additional proof that I was able to reengage in a loved hobby that has been a part of my life. Looking back and reflecting on the experiences I’ve had this year only makes me feel prouder of how far I’ve come :).

So without further ado, here is my 2016 games list:

The game I couldn’t put down: Pokemon Moon

h2x1_3ds_pokemonmoon_engb

I went into Pokemon Moon expecting a traditional Pokemon journey, and instead I got…a Pokemon journey, but I couldn’t put it down from start to finish. I flew through this game I think in the course of a week. My family and I gathered in our living room as usual and watched the Cowboys football game while I played Pokemon on my 3ds on the couch…literally nothing has changed since I was 10, apparently.

See full post here.

The game I wanted to love, but didn’t: World of Warcraft Legion

wow_legion

How many years have I spent with you, WoW? Will this be the end of our relationship spanning nearly 10 years? Probably not, but I think it’s time we took a break from one another :(. It’ll be good for us both…I hope. Maybe rekindle the cinders of our dying love?

See full post here.

The game that disappointed me most: StarFox Zero

Star Fox Zero

Seriously, I think Nintendo may have inadvertently dug a grave and buried their own franchise with this game. It was such an incredible disappointment that completely broke the heart of the kid in me. I can literally hear Slippy, Falco, and Peppy all screaming “NOOOOOO!!!” as this franchise crashes to its untimely death.

See full post here.

cfodpj

The game that impressed me most: Final Fantasy XV

014

I mean, I think it was largely that I was expecting this game to be a complete flop. I expected it to be the Final Fantasy, but I think they breathed new life into the franchise. I am okay with saying goodbye to Final Fantasy as I knew it if this is the new direction it’s taking, which brings me to the next title on my list…

See full post here.

The game I (probably) loved most: World of Final Fantasy

world_of_final_fantasy_characters_and_mega_mirage_summons

As I wrote in my original blog post, I think that this game was made by people who loved Final Fantasy for people who love Final Fantasy. I envision the whole scenario played out sort of like this:

Tose: You’re probably not going to like this, but I want to make a crossover game of Final Fantasies 1-14…

Square Enix: Okay.

Tose: …and I want to make them all super deformed (chibi)…

Square Enix: Okay.

Tose: …it’s not going to be a big title.

Square Enix: Sure sounds good let’s do it.

And then they got together and produced this gem of a game. Apparently it was created to celebrate Final Fantasy’s 30th anniversary, which explains why it seemed like a dedication to the franchise. I’m a little bit worried that, with the release of Final Fantasy XV and its subsequent success, that World of Final Fantasy may be our goodbye to Final Fantasy as we once knew it. 😥

See full post here and here.

Best new IP: Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE

tokyo_mirage_sessions

Between World of Final Fantasy and Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE, JRPG game directors were really delivering nostalgic fanservice this year. I wrote that this game was a solid new IP that played a bit like Persona while using the Fire Emblem characters in place of the Personas. Where World of Final Fantasy sort of stopped short of delivering quality experiences with old Final Fantasy characters, Tokyo Mirage Sessions #FE really set out to bring Fire Emblem characters back into your life through this game. I was absolutely thrilled to have Chrom by my side again for another full game. I really hope this isn’t the last entry, but I’m concerned about the low sales likely due to being a Wii U exclusive.

See full post here.

The most overhyped game: Fire Emblem Fates

maxresdefault1

I say overhyped because the Limited Editions were sold out within an hour of preorder and being resold for large margins, and it was somewhat difficult to grab the actual games, too. It was a good game, but it was not nearly as life changing to me as its predecessor, Awakening. The different perspectives were interesting and catered to the divide between old and new Fire Emblem fans. However, I wonder if that desire to satisfy both populations ended up making both games a little duller instead. The final products were solid but lackluster, and I will likely remember the games as being good but unable to tell you anything really about the story or characters because they didn’t resonate particularly long with me.

See full post here.

Favorite mobile game: Miitomo

f728669abfe3cc3787c118e7d6620cbc09ac1375

Yes, I am that one friend who hasn’t stopped playing Miitomo. I really love dressing up characters in all games, so collecting Nintendo franchise outfits is right up my alley. Speaking of which, if you are also playing Miitomo send a friend request my way via Twitter :). Other notable mentions for this category are Mystic Messenger and, of course, the world-breaking Pokemon Go.

Favorite otome game: Norn9

Norn9

2016 had a dearth of otome games :(. MysticMessenger was probably the most notable release of this year, but I prefer the traditional form of visual novels. Norn9 released back in 2015, but I was unemployed and broke when it happened so it is a 2016 game for me. I actually thought it was a very solid game, even with the translation errors and typos. I think what stood out about this game were not the guys or story but the strong camaraderie between the female protagonists that is often missing from games in this genre. Off the top of my head I believe this game passes the Bechdel test, but I could be wrong, as they do talk about boys a lot.

See full post here.


All in all, I think it’s been a pretty good year for games and an excellent year for RPG enthusiasts. I hope everyone has a great rest of their year and that 2017 has great things in store ^_^.

