I like this game enough to give it a second mention. Here are some extra screenshots of characters, moments, jokes, and other things I’ve loved so far ^_^. Tried to keep it spoiler free, unless you don’t want to know specifically what characters show up in the game. Lots of characters do appear!

I’m clocking in at about 21 hours played, and I’m loving the game so far. Reynn, Lann, and Tama are lovable protagonists. They’ve grown on me so much throughout the course of the game. There’s this looming feeling that there’s something they don’t quite understand about their journey, but I haven’t quite gotten to the plot twist that I so know is coming (since Final Fantasy games love their plot twists).

Also I’ve revised my previous statement. The game does have a Kingdom Hearts feel to it, I think specifically because Tetsuya Nomura directed this game. But it is definitely more of a fusion between Final Fantasy and Pokemon, since you catch and level “mirages.” Mirages can be recognizable icons (e.g. tonberry, chocobo, bombs) from previous Final Fantasy games or completely new character designs.

Here’s a collection of pictures I’ve taken of all the Final Fantasy characters that have shown up so far. Of course, if you don’t want the cameos spoiled then don’t read further, but I kept it mostly dialogue-free so that story spoilers wouldn’t happen. There’s a rather healthy sampling of cameos throughout this game :). See if you recognize them all ;).

 

I had to put this one separately so I could gush about the BABY MIST DRAGON. Omfg when I saw it I exploded from cuteness. He’s also entirely mute so he’s even cuter.

2016-11-01-214751

I do also have the first day edition, and let me say that the Japanese voice acting in this game is excellent and includes both fresh talent (Reynn, Lann, and Tama) and old veterans from their respective games. To list a few notable additions to old characters who weren’t previously voiced in their games:

  • Toshihiko Seki as Warrior of Light
  • Rie Tanaka as Faris
  • Miyuki Sawashiro as Quistis
  • Shinichiro Miki as Edgar (this was so fitting in my opinion)
  • Hideo Ishikawa as Squall
  • Ikue Otani as Vivi (voice actress of Pikachu ^_^)
  • Soichiro Hoshi as Bartz
  • Houko Kuwashima as Celes
  • Shotaro Morikubo as Cid (<3)
  • Hayashibara Megumi reprising her role as Shantotto from FF11 😀
  • Shigeru Chiba as Cactuar

And then of course there are a bunch of Final Fantasy icons/summons/etc. I lovelovelove that Tonberry, Cactuar, and Mog are friends. Also there are Kupirates, kupo. And our favorite three beginner summons–Ramuh, Ifrit, and Shiva.

2016-11-06-2327122016-10-31-2249362016-10-27-220317

The moogle pirates, in particular, are so cute >_<. And they’re voiced, so you hear them ending sentences in “kupo.”

Then there are recognizable locations:

2016-11-01-214452

I laughed because Nibelheim has a dress shop with an NPC in front that talks about having fashionable dresses in stock LOL.

2016-11-14-232535

And Lann here makes a FF10 reference/joke when you reach Besaid :).

That’s all I’ve got for now. I’ll probably write another post once I reach the end of the game and have a better idea of what the story actually is. At the moment it’s a game that’s committed to the idea of a simple yet fun and cute battle system with a healthy serving of nostalgia, and endless, endless jokes/puns/laughter. Honestly if the Final Fantasy characters weren’t there I’d still love Reynn, Lann, and Tama enough to see through the end of their journey, but it’d be like eating a good vanilla cake when I could have a delicious blueberry raspberry cream swirl cake. This cake has me coming back repeatedly for more.

