So I just completed my most recent nerdy project, Portal mirrors! I’m quite pleased with how they turned out. Hopefully my cats won’t somehow manage to destroy them…

Note: Please ignore the ancient dining table. My parents gave it to me since they were gonna throw it out anyway, and it’s at least 20 years old…

Anyway, I mostly followed this build minus the gun-activated portion of it, which I have instead opted to plug in to sockets in my wall that can be switched on and off. I adjusted small bits and pieces of it, but here’s how it mostly went down.

First, I bought two of these Ikea EKNE mirrors for $49.99 each. They were the most expensive part, but oval mirrors are surprisingly hard to find, and all the other options were smaller and more expensive. You can, of course, pick other oval mirrors if you’d like. I then stripped the mirror out of the frame (it’s held in by metal brackets that you can bend back easily, you just use a X-acto knife to cut it out of the hot glue that they also had, and you remove the metal bar across the middle with a screwdriver).

EKNEmirror

Next might be the most complicated part–making the mount. I went to Home Depot and checked their scrap wood section in the back, and the guy on duty was kind enough to saw me two 2″x 8″ x 12″ blocks for free from what they had. I’d say that other dimensions would likely work, but make sure it has enough surface area for adhesive to stick to the back of the mirror. I also bought these small keyhole hangers to attach to the wood block so that I can hang them. I got them in small, but I can’t seem to find them on the site so I just linked the large ones.

keyhole hangers

Anyway, I basically just lined up these keyhole hangers on the back and drilled holes into the wood so that you can place it on screws in the wall (if you just screw these hangers on the wood, there’s not enough space). In hindsight, I think other methods like carving the wood would work, too.

While I was at Home Depot, I bought this Loctite for mirror, marble, and granite adhesive to glue the wood to the mirror that was recommended by one of the workers, and so far it’s holding up. My friend had originally recommended liquid nail to me, and this adhesive seems to have poor reviews because it bleeds through certain surfaces. It doesn’t bleed through the backing of this mirror though, so we’re good :).

loctite

So after you’ve got your mount made, attach it to the back side of the mirror using this adhesive. I used a hammer to make little indentations on the back for better adherence, and then used a caulk gun to follow the tracks I had made in the back. Stick it basically to the middle of the back of the mirror, as straight as possible… The instructions say to let it set for 48 hours at room temperature, so I followed those directions.

Next, I bought this cable tie and mount set from Amazon for $10.71. Just stick the mounts all around the border of the back side of the mirror, leaving about an inch from the edge so nothing pokes out from behind. It’s up to you if you want to adjust this closer or farther away for your desired effect.

cabletie

I bought theseย LED rope lights from Home Depot in orange and blue. They’re pretty accurate to color, which was great. Other rope lights will work, just make sure they’re long enough to go around the perimeter! Attach them to the mounts on the back using the cable ties that came in the package. I just wrapped the extra length inside the original circle.

Finally, use screws and anchors as needed to place them on the wall wherever you want them to go! You can place them across from each other for an infinity mirror effect (think of how you made an infinite loop in the game to get enough speed to make a jump), or as I did just place them on the same wall. For science! ๐Ÿ™‚

Photo May 22, 8 43 28 PM

Photo May 22, 8 43 35 PM

 

