Tasty Cup is a new boba shop that opened up in the same plaza as Champion Snack (now closed 😥 ). I came here after being disappointed by Champion Snack’s closure, so it had some big shoes to fill.

The plaza at Coit and Park was once full of boba shops at every corner. I remember after going to SAT prep classes across the street we would walk over to hang out at Escape back in the day (now also closed). Tasty Cup seems to be the newest addition to the cross street, surviving alongside Java and Chai (formerly Java and Cha).

Tasty Cup is located in the same plaza as Aldi.
Tasty Cup is located in the same plaza as Aldi.

It’s a decent cup of boba, but it’s no replacement for Champion Snack :(. However, between this and Java and Chai I would say that Tasty Cup has the better milk tea. It has a different flavor–not quite the grainy sandy flavor of powdered milk tea. I’ve only had one cup that tasted like this before at a location in Salt Lake City. It has a hint of mocha flavor to it, but it is not mocha flavored.

The menu at the store.
The menu at the store.

What I’ve tried: Milk tea
Milk tea flavor: 4
Boba quality: 4
Recommendation: Pretty good. The interior is cozy and fresh. I think it’ll be the new bubble tea spot for teens in the area to hang out. I suspect they’re going to be stealing a lot of Java and Chai’s business. My, how times have changed.

